

February 2024 Newsletter



TDW President Sue Barrick

President's Corner

It was great to see so many old friends and meet new ones at our State Convention. My thanks to everyone who helped make it a success. And special thanks to Farha Ahmed who underwrote our convention totes, and to Mary Ho, Laura Allen, Jim Barrick, Carol Jablonski, the Texas AFL-CIO, Texas Democratic Party, and TDW Past Presidents for generously sponsoring the event.

TDW State Board Special Meeting 7:30 p.m. Tuesday March 12 via Zoom

TDW Members are welcome. Everyone must register in advance to receive a confirmation with instructions for joining the meeting. In addtion to any TDW business, there will be a short Membership 101 presentation about the TDW membership database - how it works and how to use it to help stay organized and on track.

Register for Meeting

March Membership Contest

Right now TDW has 866 current and pending members with 2024 dues paid. Membership typically doubles by November, but we can do better!

The Chapter that signs up the most new/renewing members from now until March 31st, and the Chapter with the biggest percentage increase will receive one <u>free full registration package to the 2025 TDW Convention</u>. Remember the women running for office in your area when recruiting!

Help TDW Do More, Better

The input and energy of members on TDW's various committees makes the difference between a "meh" year and one to remember.

The **Communications Committee** under Vice President Heidi Gordon wants to expand the team to include a "reporter" from each Chapter to send a timely captioned photo or short write up about a chapter activity. The Comms Committee is also seeking social media mavens motivated to raise TDW's online presence. **Check it out and sign up here.**

The **Membership Committee** under Marti Fagley will have a number of projects going. This committee has roles for a wide range of personalities and interests, from statistics to training to visiting chapters. **See where you might fit in and sign up here**.



Newly Elected 2024-25 TDW Officers

From left: Treasurer Joyce Franklin. Board Member At-Large, Marti Fagley, Vice President Heidi Gordon, President Sue Barrick, Secretary Farha Ahmed, Board Members at-Large Tracy Torma and Diana Branson, and Immediate Past President Mary Ho. Not pictured: President Elect Vicki Moore.

2024 Convention Highlights

The 2024 Annual Meeting and Convention, "Unite & Fight for Democracy" at the Marriott South Austin recalled pre-COVID days. Austin Mayor Kirk Watson and State Party Chair Gilberto Hinojosa welcomed TDW to Austin with remarks that were gracious to Texas Democratic Women but hard hitting against inhumane Republican policies.

Twelve members from six chapters were honored at the Star Awards Luncheon. Kassandra Elejarza received the TDW Outstanding Member of the Year Award for her part in

organizing Blue Ribbon Lobby Day 2023. State Party Primary Election Administrator Brenda Cruz received a special President's Award from Ms. Elejarza, and Alieca Hux presented President Mary Ho's Past President Pin.



The luncheon drew over 100 people to hear Planned Parenthood TX Votes Co-Executive Director Shellie Hayes-McMahon and Senior Advisor Wendy Davis discuss the state of women's health and abortion care in Texas. The Candidate Showcase afterward gave three dozen Democratic candidates for state and federal district offices the stage. At least one Austin TV station was even on hand.

More vendors and organization tables than ever made a lively scene outside the meeting hall. Afternoon breakout sessions and workshops informed and equipped members to speak effectively about abortion, stop local anti-abortion ordinances, use a relational organizing tool, realize diversity, equity and inclusion in our Chapters and properly mind our Chapters' monies.

Evening festivities included a Silent Auction and reception before dinner. Many mentioned how beautiful the ballroom was, with fresh flowers by past Presidents Gloria Caceres, Marcia Mainord and Alieca Hux on the tables.

Judge Catherine Mauzy, daughter of Justice Oscar Mauzy for whom the TDW Humanitarian Award is named, introduced its 2024 recipient, State Representative John Bryant. She invoked her father's memory and aptly put the meaning of the award into context for any unfamiliar with his legacy. Rep. Bryant was recognized for his distinguished career in public service from Texas to Washington and back and his expert moves that thwarted Republicans on procedure in the 88th Sessions.

The Dr. Mae Jackson Outstanding Democratic Woman Officeholder Award was presented to State Representative Gina Hinojosa, in memory of Dr. Mae Jackson, Ph.D., a civil rights activist, sociologist, community organizer, and first African American woman elected mayor of Waco. Rep. Hinojosa was recognized for her leadership of House Democrats through the regular and so many special sessions and breaking quorum to defeat the governor's never-ending pursuit of school youchers.

Keynote speaker Representative Josey Garcia of San Antonio inspired by sharing her path from foster child, USAF enlistee at 16, three overseas deployments and finally settling in San Antonio with her husband and 8 children when she retired after 20 years active duty to take on charitable and community organizing work only to run for and win Texas Houe District 124. As last year's Democratic House "Fresh of the Year" and with four bills already to her credit, she has a bright future ahead.

2024 Executive Board

President - Sue Barrick
President Elect - Vicki Moore
Vice President - Heidi Gordon
Secretary - Farha Ahmed
Treasurer - Joyce Franklin
Member At-Large - Marti Fagley
Member At-Large - Diana Branson
Member At-Large - Tracy Torma
Immediate Past President - Mary Ho

Committee Chairs

Bylaws & Policy Committee Chair - Carol Cordell
Membership Committee Chair - Marti Fagely
Finance Committee Chair - TBD
Audit Committee - TBD
Awards Committee - Mary Ho
Communications Chair - Heidi Gordon
2025 Convention Chair - Vicki Moore

Past Presidents

Mary Ho - Kassandra Elejarza - Mary Terry - Susan Barrick Maria Regalado - Cindy James - Carol Jablonski Susan Shelton - Laura Allen - Tammie Hartgroves Donna Beth McCormick - Gloria Caceres - Rosie Mimms Joanna Reagan - Susie Blackmon - Marcia Mainord Alieca Hux - Kelly Bailey - Betty Richie Roberta McMurtry Hicks - Sharon Teal - Nettie Ruth Bratton Molly Beth Malcolm - Karen Matkin - Jo Ann Jenkins Mae J. Jackson Ph.D - Jeanie Stanley Ph.D











TexasDemWomen | PO Box 301411, Austin, TX 78703

Unsubscribe kvelejarza@gmail.com

<u>Update Profile |Constant Contact Data Notice</u>

Sent bysbarrick@tdw.orgpowered by



Try email marketing for free today!