Minutes – February 27, 2017


 Board members present: Laura Nicol, Mary Morrison, Kathy Stabe, Marie Dobay, Edna Griggs, Barbara Gardner, Almeda Dent, and Lenora Sorola-Pohlman.

President Laura Nicol called the meeting to order at 7:10 p.m.

Elected officials and candidates present at the meeting were: Eartha Jean Johnson for Harris County Democratic Party Chair; and Bill McLeod for Harris County Court at Law #4.

Announcements were made regarding the 7th annual Women Making History awards luncheon on March 11, 2017; a meeting to organize TDW Harris’ committees following the adjournment of the February 2017 meeting; and Blue Ribbon Lobby Day on April 10, 2017. TDW Harris is sponsoring a bus from Houston to Austin for Blue Ribbon Lobby Day and will be selling round-trip seats on the bus for $40.00. Lenora Sorola-Pohlman announced that she had some seats available at her table for the upcoming Annie’s List luncheon with speaker Hillary Clinton for $150.00.

Reading of the minutes from the January 2017 meeting was waived and the minutes were accepted as written.

The February speakers were Democratic Judges Ramona Franklin of the Harris County 338th Criminal District Court; Kristen Hawkins of the Harris County 11th Civil District Court; and Steven Kirkland of the Harris County 334th Civil District Court. The judges spoke about the ways in which Harris County’s courts have been changing as more Democrats are being elected as judges, and what they are doing with their courts to ensure greater accessibility for all, including a reasonable bonding schedule, holding dockets on off-days when necessary, and the creation of a homeless court, move cases towards resolution in a more efficient fashion, and educate the public about how the courts work and their rights within the justice system.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:12 p.m.